

MEMORANDUM

To: Friends of Southeastern Cotton Ginners

From: Steve Sterling, President

Subj: Ginner of the Year 2021 (DEADLINE OCTOBER 8, 2022)

Date: September 1, 2022

Dear Member,

Each year, the Southeastern Cotton Ginners Association awards the Ginner of the Year to one of its members. In the past the Selection Committee has relied on word of mouth for nominations but would like to make the process more open and formal. Please find accompanying this memo, the application for this award.

All applications will be kept confidential. All applications are only viable for one year. If you submit a nominee and he or she is not selected, you will need to send a new application the following year if you would like them to be considered again. Deadline is October 8, 2021. Please send applications to our office at the address above Attn: Dusty Findley or by email to dusty@southern-southeastern.org.

The Ginner of the Year will be based on the following criteria:

- 1. Person selected must be active in Southeastern Cotton Ginners Association, Inc.
- 2. Must be a progressive ginner who endeavors to keep cotton strong in his community,
- 3. Must be active in managing and operating his ginning business,
- 4. Must be active in business civic affairs within his community,
- 5. Must be a person who has respect within the ginning community, and
- 6. Must be supportive of the cotton industry in general.

Past recipients include:

1983	North Carolina – Tom Gibson SC – L. Mendell Chewning Georgia – C.D. Taylor Alabama – Ben Beers	1987	South Carolina – Julian M. Drake NC – David Bruce Hudson Alabama – James Thomas Brumley Georgia – Hamill McNair
1984	Alabama – Claude Buchanan		NC – Norman & Ralph Vaughan
1985	Alabama – Tim Currie		South Carolina – Jimmy Saverance
1986	Alabama – Bobby Greene	1990	North Carolina – Rex Carter
	Georgia – Van Murphy	1991	South Carolina – Bob Bonnoitt

1992	Alabama – Tim Currie	2007	NC - Robbie Waters
1993	Georgia – Roy V. Noble	2008	VA – Mark Hodges
1994	SC – Clayton Lowder, Jr.	2009	SC- Moss Perrow
1995	Georgia – Wendell Dunaway	2010	AL – Richard Lindsey
1996	Alabama – Claude Buchanan	2011	NC- Shirley Gibson
1997	Virginia – Tom Alphin	2012	GA - McCleskey Gin
1998	Georgia - Chuck Coley	2013	SC – Dalzell Ag Supply
1999	Alabama - Dan Ellis	2014	GA/FL – Clover Leaf Gin
2000	South Carolina – David Lynch	2015	AL – Joey Scarborough
2001	NC/ VA - Rick Holder	2016	NC- Dean Kight
2002	Georgia – Kent Fountain	2017	VA - Len Alphin
2003	NC / VA – BB Griffin	2018	SC - Burt Rickenbaker
2004	AL/FL – Joe McDonald	2019	GA – Don Daily
2005	SC Earl Alford	2020	GA – Ken Roberts
2006	GA Ben Evans	2021	Tom Stallings

APPLICATION

Southeastern Cotton Ginners Association, Inc. Ginner of the Year

Date:

Name of Nominee:

Name of Nominee's Gin:

Address of Nominee's Gin:

Basis of the Selection: Judging will be on the following items: (please give complete statements to justify applicant's selection) (Letters of recommendation can be included please limit to four)

- 1. Service to his/her customers: a. Quality of Ginning
 - b. Ethical Business Standards
 - c. Other Customer Service Activities
- 2. Is the Nominee ACTIVE in the management of their operation?

Activities of the nominee in the affairs of their community
a. Civic Leadership

- b. Philanthropic Work
- c. Other Contributions
- 4. Is the Nominee respected by his peers (letters of support accepted)

5. Other information that would be

This application is submitted by the undersigned who certifies that the statements made are true and correct:

Signed:

NOMINATOR

Name:_____

Address:_____

	City:	State:	ZIP:
--	-------	--------	------

Submit by mail or email: See Memo above. Deadline is October 8.